top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJason Couey

Eastern Washington State Homestead Exemption Amounts by County as of December 19, 2023.

Updated: Dec 19, 2023

The Washington State legislature has enacted significant changes to the Washington homestead statute. The legislation amends RCW 6.13.010, 6.13.030, 6.13.060, 6.13.070, 6.13.080, and 61.24.100, effective May 12, 2021.


In general, the law provides for increases in potential homestead exemptions based on “the county median sale price of a single-family home in the preceding year.”


The Washington State homestead amount is applicable in bankruptcy cases when debtors have elected to use it instead of the federal exemption. The Washington State homestead exemption amount is now “the greater of $125,000 or the county median sale price of a single-family home in the preceding calendar year.” (Please note that 11 U.S.C. § 522(p) may limit the maximum amount of the state homestead when property is acquired by a debtor less than 1,215 days before bankruptcy.)


These amounts will change annually, but for 2023 (updated here on 12/19/2023), the county-by-county homestead exemption values for the Eastern District of Washington are as follows:


Adams: $299,200 • Asotin: $292,500 • Benton: $440,300 • Chelan: $589,200 • Columbia: $269,400 • Douglas: $458,100 • Ferry: $237,500 • Franklin: $440,300 • Garfield: $207,100 • Grant: $357,100 • Kittitas: $567,500 • Klickitat: $387,100 • Lincoln: $239,300 • Okanogan: $352,500 • Pend Oreille: $322,800 • Spokane: $440,000 • Stevens: $322,800 • Walla Walla: $422,900 • Whitman: $393,000 • Yakima: $351,000





1,591 views0 comments

Comentarios


Los comentarios se han desactivado.
bottom of page